How We Met

I don’t know about you, but I absolutely LOVE hearing stories about how couples met. 

Some of my personal favorites include: sitting next to each other on a flight, bowling with the boss’s daughter, a house party in high school, middle school social studies, and walking together in the Seattle Solstice Parade (butt naked)! 

Sometimes, I make up stories about how we met… I was swimming in the lake when an alligator started chasing me, he jumped in and wrestled the alligator. We were reaching for the same book on the top shelf at the library. We locked eyes across the room at a concert and were immediately drawn to each other. 

Well, folks…Sorry to disappoint, but we met at a bar. Yep, four years ago on a rainy Friday night in February I was out with my girlfriends at Kangaroo and Kiwi in Ballard. I had maybe a few too many “Pink Drinks”, when I went outside to “get some air.” When we tried to go back inside, the dude at the door tried to arm bar me and told my friend Katie “she can’t come back in here.” Naturally, I pushed him and ran back into the bar. My friend Nicole was bartending, so when he came after me she gave me the ok to stay.

A few weeks later, we were there again. Katie was talking to this guy, and I came over. “Hey, do you remember Billy? He tried to kick you out!” He goes “That was you?!” I’d say hi to him when I saw him at the pub, but it wasn’t until a sunny May Day in the beer garden that it sparked. 

I honestly can’t tell you what happened. I don’t even know. One minute, I’m sitting with a group of the regulars and the next minute Billy and I are holding hands, joking about when we would have a baby on the date in the exact middle of our birthdays. His is July 26th, mine is July 18th. 

On May 14th, I agreed to drinks (at the pub, of course), and he kissed me in the Wells Fargo parking lot after walking me to my car. The rest they say, is history. 

Leave a comment